Wednesday, October 18, 2017
     

TITLING AND REGISTERING AN ANTIQUE VEHICLE IN KANSAS

DEFINING AN ANTIQUE VEHICLE

Kansas law defines an antique vehicle as “any vehicle more than thirty-five (35) years old, propelled by a motor using petroleum fuel, steam or electricity or any combination thereof.”

FEES AND PROPERTY TAXES

The fees for antique vehicles depend on whether or not you apply for a title only, or a title and registration.  If you apply for a title only you will pay $10.00.  If you apply for registration along with the title, you will pay an additional $40.00 registration fee, a $5.00 county service fee, and a $.50 reflectorized plate fee for a total of $55.50.  The $40.00 registration fee is a one-time fee.  Sales tax may also be due at the time you title and register the vehicle.  Antique vehicles are taxed annually as personal property just as any other vehicle.  In most cases, the tax is fixed at $12.00.  In addition, there is a county registration fee of $5.00 for a total of $17.00.  Typically, you will receive this tax bill toward the end of the calendar year with your real estate and personal property tax statements.

1949 VEHICLES OR OLDER

Vehicles that are model year 1949 or older may be titled and registered by the following process:

A Kansas title, a title from another state, or a bill of sale may be used as the primary ownership document.  A bill of sale used as an ownership document does not need to be notarized.
If you are using a Kansas title or bill of sale as your primary ownership document, take it to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.  The Kansas title or bill of sale will be accepted, and your title and registration will be issued.
If you are using an out of state title as your primary ownership document, you will need to obtain a VIN inspection from the Kansas Highway Patrol.  Once you have obtained a VIN inspection, take the inspection report and out of state title to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.  These documents will be accepted, and your title and registration will be issued.

1950 VEHICLES OR NEWER

Vehicles that are model year 1950 or newer may be titled and registered by the following process:

A Kansas title, a title from another state, or a bill of sale may be used as the primary ownership document.  A bill of sale used as an ownership document does not need to be notarized.
If you are using a Kansas title as your primary ownership document, take it to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.  The Kansas title will be accepted, and your title and registration will be issued.
If you are using a title from another state or a bill of sale as your primary ownership document, you must obtain a VIN inspection from the Kansas Highway Patrol.  Once you have obtained a VIN inspection, take the inspection report and ownership documents to your county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.  These documents will be accepted, and your title and registration will be issued.

IS MY VEHICLE AN ANTIQUE

To qualify as an antique, your vehicle must be more than 35 years old, and as close to the original as possible, without any significant alterations to the major component parts (motor, transmission, frame, wheels or body).  For example, placing a newer, non-antique engine with a body, frame or other major component part from an antique vehicle of a different vintage year would not constitute an antique vehicle.  This type of vehicle would be considered an assembled vehicle, or possibly a “street rod.”  Similarly, modifying an engine and putting it on an antique frame would no longer qualify the vehicle as an antique. An antique vehicle should be as close to the original as possible.

If you have questions regarding whether or not your vehicle is an antique, assembled, or street rod, contact the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles, titles and Registration Bureau at 785-296-3621, press option 2 and then 2 again.

HOW TO OBTAIN A VIN INSPECTION FROM THE KANSAS HIGHWAY PATROL

To find the nearest location where you may obtain a VIN inspection, contact the Kansas Highway Patrol State Motor Vehicle Enforcement Coordinator’s Office at 316-744-0538, or 316-744-0451, or log on to their web site at:

www.kansashighwaypatrol.org

www.ksrevenue.org/dmv

www.kansastreasurers.org